Listening to: Morbid Angel: Domination

morbid angel domination 1995

Release: 9 Jan, 1995
Label: Giant Records (North America) / Earache Records (Europe)


Information: Giant Records soon filed for Bankruptcy, which forced the band to re-sign with their former label Earache Records. Music video produced for “Where The Slime Live”. David Vincent soon left the band after the release of Domination and was replaced by Steve Tucker, however Vincent returned to the band in 2004 but would not appear on any Morbid Angel recording until 2011’s Illud Divinum Insanus.


It has been a while since I’ve listened to a Morbid Angel album. Without a doubt, I always manage to put on Blessed Are The Sick now and again to remind myself what a great band they were once were, perhaps because of the reaction Illud Divinum Insanus got. Domination is a very new purchase for me. I was browsing through my iTunes library – organising it, really – and noticing my three Morbid Angel albums sticking out like a sore thumb and looking slightly lonely: 

morbid-angel-itunes-cropped

“Right,” I thought to myself as I stared at the three albums. “Time to get browsing!”

I searched through Amazon’s music store and saw that the album was/is priced at £8.99. After seeing that, I decided (and hoped) it would cheaper on Google Play’s music store – managed to buy Deafheaven’s latest record New Bermuda from there for a slightly cheaper price than what Amazon were offering.

After the page loaded, I quickly typed in “Morbid Angel” – what else? – into the search bar, but out of the corner of my eye I saw an advert that you could 75% off any album. When you click it the selection they give is, well, pretty poor, but there was Black Stone Cherry’s new one, but I might buy that on CD. Unfortunately, the jury is still deliberating on that one – it might be an end of the month purchase. 

Right, right. Enough GIFs. Where was I?

Oh, yes, that’s right: save 75% off any album, Black Stone Cherry – Bob’s your uncle (well, he could be really). Although this album was released in 1995 – at the height of the Grunge revolution – I think this album is pretty good. Listening to it, I can see where Opeth’s Mikael may have been influenced in his vocal style and delivery as it sounds very similar.

Considering I managed to get this album for about 3 quid, and seeing this album is eleven years old, that’s got to be a pretty deal right? 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

