1996-2016: 20th Anniversary Albums

In 1996 I had just turned 6 years old. I cannot remember a lot of when I was 6 – my memory is quite bad – but I do remember the stuff I liked: Pop music and Power Rangers. Now that I’m in my late-twenties, music is a big part of my life. Looking back at all the music that came out when I was kid it’s quite astonishing really.

Here are just a few albums that are celebrating their 20th Anniversaries in 2016.


Rage Against The Machine – Evil Empire
Still to this day I listen to this album. I like it even more than their first record.


SepulturaRoots
One of the albums I regularly revisit over the years. Words are not enough for this album. As my brother said, when he saw me writing, this album is “timeless”. 


NeurosisThrough Silver In Blood


SoundgardenDown On The Upside
Although not as good as Superunknown, this is still a worthy addition to the Soundgarden collection, with their follow-up King Animal coming 16 years later.


OpethMorningrise
This is/was Opeth’s second record, after their debut Orchid, and even though this remains one of my favourite early Opeth albums, I could still how the band were growing.


Cannibal CorpseVile
I don’t know this album – I’m into Cannibal Corpse’s later stuff – but I saw it amongst the list and thought ‘why not?’


PanteraThe Great Southern Trendkill
As said in my earlier post, Rhino will be releasing a 20th Anniversary Edition of The Great Southern Trendkill.


MetallicaLoad
Out of all the albums that are featured here, this is an album that people might be quick to skip over.


CarcassSwansong


Alice in ChainsUnplugged


Type O NegativeOctober Rust


Pearl JamNo Code


ToolÆnima


NirvanaFrom the Muddy Banks of the Wishkah


MARILYN MANSON – ANTICHRIST SUPERSTAR


KORN – LIFE IS PEACHY


MOTORHEAD – OVERNIGHT SENSATION


CORROSION OF CONFORMITY – WISEBLOOD


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

