NEWS: Hear Lamb Of God premiere new track “The Duke”

Lamb of God will be releasing a new EP entitled The Duke on November 18, 2016; vinyl available on November 26.

The title-track, “The Duke”, has been made available to stream and the video is available below. The track was written by Randy as a tribute to Wayne Ford, who, at the age of 33, died last year from leukaemia.

Blythe revealed he will auction his gold record for Lamb Of God’s Ashes Of The Wake to raise funds for The Leukaemia & Lymphoma Society, as a tribute to Ford.

Blythe said to Rolling Stone: “He was just a really inspiring guy to talk to in the way he handled everything. He was just very levelheaded. You hear about people in their old age, when they get accepting of their mortality, that’s kind of natural.

“This is what that dude went through at age 33, and from talking to his family and his wife, it wasn’t like it was a show he was putting on for the singer of his favourite band like, ‘I am Mr Calm Guy.’ That’s just the way he was.

“So it was very impressive to me. I learned a lot. I was like, ‘Man, this guy has some dignity. I can only hope I have half of that when it comes to my time.’

“We had this track that I hadn’t finished vocals on, so I wrote it from his perspective. I tried to put myself in his headspace. There’s some personal stuff in there that is in his voice and that’s to his wife. She’ll recognise it.

“And other stuff was just stuff I drew from our conversation and other stuff was just out of my head. It was just really a way to honour this guy I had gotten to know.”

The Duke tracklist:

  1. The Duke
  2. Culling
  3. Still Echoes (Live from Rock AM Ring)
  4. 512 (Live from Bonnaroo)
  5. Engage The Fear Machine (Live from Bonnaroo)

Listen to “The Duke” below:

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

