REVIEW: BenightedNecrobreed (2017)

It’s very rare that I review such a new album that has only been released a few weeks ago, but ever since this album was released I have been listening to it non-stop on Spotify. It’s usual that I’ll wait a while before reviewing an album that’s only just come out so I can really sit down and absorb the record. I’m an old school music listener/collector where, if you like something, you should definitely go out and buy, regardless of whatever format you choose – “If you like it, buy it!” is the phrase I’d most definitely apply to the previous sentence. Saying that, I’m still opting for the choice of the physical format here (which is CD) as I can read most of the lyrics and try to understand the vocalists. The album starts off with a minute into titled “Hush Little Baby” which, in all honesty, sets up the entire tone of the record. The tracks are all ranging from 3-4 minutes in length, except the title track which is just about 1:30 mins long (and very much in vain of a Napalm Death song). The songs range from the frenzied attack of the blast with the slightest hint of groove metal, if you want to be specific, and with the usual guttural growls mixed with the pig squeal that you’d most associate with grindcore. This album is dripping with so much intensity that, at the moment, I’m most assured that this will be my number one album come the end of this year. It’s getting to the point where I’m trying to find something negative about the record but, really, not finding anything. On the special edition there are two bonus tracks (covers, I think) and the band absolutely nail a cover of Sepultura’s “Biotech Is Godzilla” (listen to it below). I honestly think this will be one of the best records of 2017 for me.

RATING: 5 / 5

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

